The 2021 Conference of the System Dynamics Society

Practicing for the Virtual Conference

If you are familiar with Zoom, you should have little difficulty navigating the conference. For each session type, we have established protocols to make everything work as smoothly as possible for presenters, chairs, helpers, and attendees. The practice sessions will give you a chance to make sure your connections work as expected and experience the process of being in a session in different roles. They are designed to make it easier for presenters and chair (volunteer's get their own practice time), but all attendees are welcome to make use of the sessions.

We have put together two videos on how to use a zoom room for parallel and poster sessions. These are recommended in advance, or even in lieu of, the practice sessions.

In addition, we have put together a description of Conference Roles and Responsibilities that should be reviewed so that you know clearly what is expected in each session type.

There is also more general information on Working with Zoom that may be helpful.

 

This is a video showing how we will be using Zoom in Parallel and WIP sessions.

This is a video showing how we will be using Zoom in Poster sessions.

 

The practice sessions are a series of four 1.5-hour live drop-in times for non-plenary presenters and chairs, and two, 1.5-hour live drop-in time for plenary presenters. During these times there will be conference volunteers to answer your questions and help you test out the technology. The schedule for those sessions is below, in Bergen time accompanied by another time zone for which the scheduled time should be convenient. Choose any one. At the appropriate time, please click on the link that works for you.

NON-Plenary A: Tuesday, July 14: 09:00 CEST / 17:00 AEST

NON-Plenary B: Tuesday, July 14: 17:00 CEST / 09:00 MT

Plenary A: Wednesday, July 15: 09:00 CEST / 17:00 AEST

Plenary B: Wednesday, July 15: 17:00 CEST / 9:00 MT

NON-Plenary C: Thursday, July 16: 09:00 CEST/ 17:00 AEST

NON-Plenary D: Friday, July 17: 09:00 AEST / Thursday, July 16: 17:00 MT (-1 day)

If you have any technical difficulties at the time of joining the zoom meeting, please feel free to contact this year’s Volunteer Coordinator, Alan Mozaffari, at alan.mozaffari@gmail.com.